Graduation

I experimented with a few titles for this post, ‘Graduation: It’s all Over’, ‘Graduation: It’s all beginning’, ‘Graduation: What the f**k now?’ but all that did was increase anxiety! Graduation was certainly bittersweet, I loved college, the classes and seminars paled in comparison to the fun I was having but I’ll never regret a minute of how I spent my time. So when it came to saying goodbye college and hello world I felt quite the array of emotions. Firstly I felt incredibly jet lagged having flown Boston-Dublin and arrived a mere 24 hours before the event, not my best planning! Then as I collected my little piece of paper I felt an overwhelming sense of gratefulness, gratefulness to my parents for encouraging me to choose a course I was interested in, gratefulness to my college for providing so many amazing opportunities, grateful to the friends I made, grateful to the boys I loved, grateful to the whole entire universe. I’m a graduate, I have a degree, I’m unreaaaaaal. Then after a lovely meal with my family a sudden ton of bricks hit me. I am a grownup. I am a grownup. Oh no! What on earth? There’s been some sort of mistake, I still listen to Taylor Swift, I still bite my nails. This is not the image of me as a grownup I imagined! After quite a few unrestful sleeps, a lot of googling of the phrase ‘gap year’ and tears upon tears. I remembered a little something, out there in my sea of confusion, panic and early twenties angst, one phrase reached out to me ‘Pour yourself a drink, put on some lipstick and pull yourself together’ Elizabeth Taylor. So in quite a haze I did just that, I raided my mum’s bacardi, I put on my reddest red and sat on my bed in my fluffy pajamas. I’m not quite sure what’s next here, but with pending alcoholism I feel a return to Dublin is imminent.

1239452_10200211635408451_531083934_n

1368808_10200211625728209_500399592_nGrad photo framed and on the mantlepiece less than 24 hours after ceremony, my mother is nothing if not efficient!  

1369054_10200211625808211_1675016651_n

Big thank you to my gorgeous godmother who lent me this dress for the big day! Went with this simple fitted navy dress, black peeptoes, and some raybans for the sneaky sunshine that we had!

1186814_10200211706170220_2137908337_n

CC

Leave a Reply

